-
Added to comparison
-
Added to comparison
-
Added to comparison
-
Added to comparison
-
Added to comparison
-
Added to comparison
Hitachi airHome 400: the Hitachi essential, down to -20.5°C
The airHome 400 heats down to -20.5°C according to Hitachi, cleans itself with FrostWash and has a PM2.5 activated carbon filter. Six models in our store, from 9,000 to 36,000 BTU/h, including a 12,000 in 115 V. From 12,000 to 24,000 BTU/h, it is ENERGY STAR cold climate and Most Efficient.
Heats down to -20.5°C
“100%” threshold not published by Hitachi
Indicative LogisVert amount per size. Tap a size to open the product page.
Six models, from 9,000 to 36,000 BTU/h, including one in 115 V.
Tap a size: the full sheet appears, with heat at -8°C and -15°C, the AHRI number and the LogisVert amount. The 12,000 to 24,000 BTU/h sizes are ENERGY STAR cold climate; the 36,000 is not on the ENERGY STAR list (October 8, 2026).

Hitachi airHome 400 · 9,000 BTU/h
RAC-DJ09WHAA + RAK-DJ09RHAA · AHRI 216759655 · indoor sound 29 / 44 dB(A)
Under 12,000 BTU/h nominal: LogisVert does not apply.

Hitachi airHome 400 · 12,000 BTU/h
RAC-DJ12WHAA + RAK-DJ12RHAA · AHRI 216759656 · indoor sound 29 / 46 dB(A)

Hitachi airHome 400 · 12,000 BTU/h (115 V)
RAC-EJ12WHAA + RAK-EJ12PHAA · AHRI 216759659 · indoor sound 29 / 46 dB(A)

Hitachi airHome 400 · 18,000 BTU/h
RAC-DJ18WHAA + RAK-DJ18RHAA · AHRI 216759657 · indoor sound 35 / 48 dB(A)

Hitachi airHome 400 · 24,000 BTU/h
RAC-DJ24WHAA + RAK-DJ24RHAA · AHRI 216759658 · indoor sound 36 / 51 dB(A)

Hitachi airHome 400 · 36,000 BTU/h
RAC-DJ36WHAA + RAK-DJ36PHAA · AHRI 216411300 · indoor sound 38 / 54 dB(A)
Not on the ENERGY STAR list (October 8, 2026): since November 26, 2025, only ENERGY STAR units qualify.
Heat at -8°C and -15°C, size by size (BTU/h)
Capacities certified under each product’s AHRI number (ENERGY STAR, 17°F and 5°F). At -15°C the figure is a maximum capacity; at -8°C a rated capacity: it can therefore be higher at -15°C.
The airHome 400 heats down to -20.5°C. Slide to see where it stops.
The three airHome series side by side, according to Hitachi. The row marked in red is the airHome 400. Slide the temperature.
Limits and “100%” thresholds according to Hitachi (HeatForce technology, airHome 600 and 800). Hitachi publishes no “100%” threshold for the airHome 400.
Hitachi technology, a local team.
HITACHI designs the heat pump. AirGreen picks it with you, installs it and registers it. Each does what it does best.
What HITACHI brings
- airHome 400Heats down to -20.5°C, according to Hitachi.
- FrostWashThe wall unit washes itself, with ice.
- R-32The refrigerant of all our airHome units.
- Up to 10 yearsParts and compressor, unit registered within 60 days.
What AirGreen brings
- Sold and installed by AirGreenIn Montreal, Laval, Longueuil, the South Shore and the North Shore.
- Free home estimateWe measure the rooms, the insulation and the line set route.
- 6 years all-inclusiveParts, labour and travel, since October 5, 2026. And we register your Hitachi warranty.
- RBQ 5645-9605-01Subclasses 15.8, 15.10 and 16.
The result: the right Hitachi, chosen with you, installed and registered by AirGreen.
Size by size, from 8°C down to -20°C.
Tap a size: the columns show the maximum capacity certified by NEEP and the COP at each temperature. The dotted line marks the nominal size.
Maximum certified heating capacity by outdoor temperature, and COP at that output (1 kWh of electricity gives COP kWh of heat). Percentage: share of the nominal size. Source: NEEP, by AHRI number, read October 8, 2026.
See the full table (BTU/h)
| Model | 8°C | -8°C | -15°C | Coldest point |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hitachi airHome 400 · 9,000AHRI 216759655 | 12,000 | 9,000 | 7,500 | 6,000-20°C · COP 2.20 |
| Hitachi airHome 400 · 12,000AHRI 216759656 | 13,700 | 12,000 | 10,250 | 8,000-20°C · COP 1.91 |
| Hitachi airHome 400 · 12,000 (115 V)AHRI 216759659 | 13,700 | 11,700 | 10,250 | 8,000-20°C · COP 1.91 |
| Hitachi airHome 400 · 18,000AHRI 216759657 | 19,500 | 17,100 | 14,200 | 11,400-20°C · COP 1.85 |
| Hitachi airHome 400 · 24,000AHRI 216759658 | 27,500 | 22,500 | 18,500 | 14,000-20°C · COP 1.90 |
| Hitachi airHome 400 · 36,000AHRI 216411300 | 37,500 | 29,000 | 24,500 | 19,600-20°C · COP 2.03 |
Same size, three levels: where the airHome 400 stands.
Choose a size: the three wall units side by side. The red column is this page’s.
| 9,000 BTU/h | airHome 400 | airHome 600 | airHome 800 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heats down to | -20.5°C | -25°C | -30°C |
| 100% heat down to | Not published | -15°C | -20°C |
| Heat at -8°C | 6,500 BTU/h | 7,500 BTU/h | 8,000 BTU/h |
| Heat at -15°C | 6,700 BTU/h | 8,400 BTU/h | 9,000 BTU/h |
| SEER2 | 20.0 | 23.0 | 26.5 |
| HSPF2 | 9.2 | 11.4 | 12.0 |
| Wi-Fi | Optional adapter | Adapter included | Adapter included, built in |
| ENERGY STAR | Standard | Cold climate | Cold climate |
| LogisVert | Not eligible | Not eligible | Not eligible |
| Product | See | See | See |
| 12,000 BTU/h | airHome 400 | airHome 600 | airHome 800 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heats down to | -20.5°C | -25°C | -30°C |
| 100% heat down to | Not published | -15°C | -20°C |
| Heat at -8°C | 8,400 BTU/h | 9,400 BTU/h | 11,000 BTU/h |
| Heat at -15°C | 9,200 BTU/h | 11,000 BTU/h | 10,500 BTU/h |
| SEER2 | 19.5 | 20.0 | 25.0 |
| HSPF2 | 9.2 | 11.1 | 11.5 |
| Wi-Fi | Optional adapter | Adapter included | Adapter included, built in |
| ENERGY STAR | Cold climate | Cold climate | Cold climate |
| LogisVert | $1,008 | $1,128 | $1,320 |
| Product | See | See | See |
| 18,000 BTU/h | airHome 400 | airHome 600 | airHome 800 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heats down to | -20.5°C | -25°C | -30°C |
| 100% heat down to | Not published | -15°C | -20°C |
| Heat at -8°C | 13,300 BTU/h | 15,000 BTU/h | 16,000 BTU/h |
| Heat at -15°C | 14,200 BTU/h | 15,200 BTU/h | 15,200 BTU/h |
| SEER2 | 19.5 | 20.0 | 21.5 |
| HSPF2 | 10.5 | 11.5 | 11.5 |
| Wi-Fi | Optional adapter | Adapter included | Adapter included, built in |
| ENERGY STAR | Cold climate | Cold climate | Cold climate |
| LogisVert | $1,596 | $1,800 | $1,920 |
| Product | See | See | See |
| 24,000 BTU/h | airHome 400 | airHome 600 | airHome 800 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heats down to | -20.5°C | -25°C | -30°C |
| 100% heat down to | Not published | -15°C | -20°C |
| Heat at -8°C | 17,500 BTU/h | 16,700 BTU/h | 16,000 BTU/h |
| Heat at -15°C | 18,400 BTU/h | 17,700 BTU/h | 17,900 BTU/h |
| SEER2 | 18.3 | 21.0 | 21.0 |
| HSPF2 | 10.0 | 11.0 | 11.0 |
| Wi-Fi | Optional adapter | Adapter included | Adapter included, built in |
| ENERGY STAR | Cold climate | Cold climate | Cold climate |
| LogisVert | $2,100 | $2,004 | $1,920 |
| Product | See | See | See |
FrostWash and a PM2.5 filter, no fuss.
FrostWash freezes then thaws the indoor coil: the ice carries the dust and dirt away. Here is what the airHome 400 does, compared with the other two series, according to Hitachi.
- FreezeThe room’s humidity freezes on the coil and traps the dust.
- MeltThe ice melts and carries the dirt away.
- DryMold Guard dries the inside for about 60 minutes after each cooling cycle.
Freeze-and-melt process and Mold Guard, according to Hitachi’s airHome 400 brochure and page.
Removed from the coil after a single FrostWash cycle: tests by the Kitasato Research Center of Environmental Science (test no. 2020_0650, model RAS-X22K), cited in Hitachi’s brochures.
| What keeps the air clean | 400 | 600 | 800 |
|---|---|---|---|
| FrostWash, indoor coil | Yes | Yes, 3.0 | Yes, 3.0 |
| FrostWash, outdoor unit | No, indoor only | Yes, + reverse fan | Yes, + reverse fan |
| PM2.5 activated carbon filter | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Stainless steel pre-filter | Yes | Yes | Yes, antimicrobial |
| Mold Guard (against mould) | Yes, drying after use | Yes, drying after use | 2.0, watches even when off |
| Presence sensor (Smart Eco) | Not specified | Yes | Yes |
| Dehumidification (Dry mode) | 1.1 to 5.31 L/h | 1.6 to 4.0 L/h | 2.1 to 4.5 L/h |
| airCloud Go app | Optional adapter | Adapter included | Adapter included, built in |
“Not specified”: neither Hitachi’s Canadian page nor its brochure mentions it for that series. airHome 400 FrostWash: indoor only, according to its brochure. Reverse outdoor fan: DuraSpin. PM2.5 filter: captures 99% of fine particles according to Hitachi’s tests (JEM1467 standard). Dehumidification: from the smallest to the largest size, according to the brochures.
From 29 to 54 dB(A), from silent to turbo.
Pick a size, a speed and a mode: the needle follows the indoor sound levels Hitachi publishes for the airHome 400.
- 0 dB(A) Complete silence
- 50 dB(A) Rain
- 74 dB(A) Laundry room
- 80 dB(A) Road traffic
Sound references printed in the Hitachi airHome 400 brochure. A 10 dB(A) increase is perceived as roughly twice as loud.
Up to 50 m between the wall unit and the outdoor unit.
Slide the distance: each size fades as soon as you pass the maximum line length published by Hitachi.
Maximum line lengths and heights published by Hitachi (brochures). We measure the real route during the free visit.
Six facts about the airHome 400, checked at the source.
Tap a card to flip it. Every number is explained on the back, with its source.
From $1,008 to $2,100 depending on the size.
Indicative amount per size, calculated with the certified heat at -8°C of its AHRI number.
9,000 BTU/h wall units are not eligible: LogisVert requires an outdoor unit of at least 12,000 BTU/h nominal.
airHome 400 · 24,000 · RAC-DJ24WHAA + RAK-DJ24RHAA
Since November 26, 2025, only ENERGY STAR certified units qualify for the grant.
The claim must be filed within 9 months of installation.
The grant never exceeds 100% of the purchase and installation cost before taxes.
Hydro-Québec confirms the amount with the AHRI number of the installed combination.
Source: Hydro-Québec, LogisVert participation guide v1.10 (September 15, 2026) and eligible heat pump search tool, checked October 6, 2026. Indicative amounts, confirmed by Hydro-Québec when you claim. Our LogisVert guide
10 years from Hitachi on parts and compressor. 6 years from AirGreen, labour included.
Two warranties add up. Hitachi covers the compressor and parts for 10 years when the unit is registered within 60 days: we do the registration. And since October 5, 2026, your new heat pump installed by AirGreen is covered for 6 years, parts, labour and travel included.
on the compressor and parts, unit registered with Hitachi within 60 days
parts, labour and travel, by AirGreen, since October 5, 2026
Without registration within 60 days, the Hitachi warranty is 7 years on the compressor and 5 years on parts. We do the registration for you.
We register your unit within 60 days: that is what takes the Hitachi warranty from 7 and 5 years to 10 years.
Since October 5, 2026, Québec’s Consumer Protection Act grants new heat pumps a 6-year warranty of good working order. At AirGreen, it includes parts, labour and travel.
A complete professional maintenance once a year, with the invoice as proof. Manufacturers require it before supplying a warranty part.
We measure the rooms, the insulation and the line set route.
The model, the size, the AHRI number and the indicative LogisVert amount.
Vacuum, refrigerant charge, heating and cooling tests.
We register your unit with Hitachi within 60 days.
Sources: Hitachi Cooling & Heating Canada, “Warranties & Training” (mini-split warranties, including airHome and airHome Multi), checked October 6, 2026; AirGreen Warranty of October 5, 2026 (Consumer Protection Act, CQLR, c. P-40.1, ss. 38.1 to 38.9).
The airHome 400 on video.
The wall unit presented by Hitachi, and FrostWash in action.
27 airHome 400 units installed and published by AirGreen.
Real airHome 400 installations: the unit, the place, how it was installed.
airHome 400 units installed and published
By series
“Nos réalisations” blog articles as of October 8, 2026.
The other two series, and the rest of the Hitachi lineup.
Your questions about the airHome 400, answered.
Down to -20.5°C according to Hitachi. Hitachi publishes no “100% heat” threshold for this series; to keep full power colder than that, look at the airHome 600 (100% down to -15°C) or 800 (100% down to -20°C).
No: the airCloud Go adapter is optional, according to Hitachi. It is included on the airHome 600 and built into the airHome 800.
The 12,000 BTU/h airHome 400 also comes in 115 V (RAK-EJ12PHAA + RAC-EJ12WHAA, AHRI 216759659), with the same figures on its product page and the same LogisVert amount, $1,008. We check your electrical panel during the visit.
Its combination (RAC-DJ36WHAA + RAK-DJ36PHAA, AHRI 216411300) is not on the ENERGY STAR list (checked October 8, 2026). Since November 26, 2025, only ENERGY STAR units qualify.
No. LogisVert requires an outdoor unit of at least 12,000 BTU/h nominal.
A self-cleaning cycle: the wall unit freezes the room’s humidity on its indoor coil, then thaws it; the water carries the dust and dirt away. One button on the remote. The filter is still cleaned by hand, and a yearly inspection is still recommended.
Hydro-Québec multiplies the certified heat at -8°C, in thousands of BTU/h, by $120 for an ENERGY STAR cold climate unit, or by $50 for a standard ENERGY STAR unit. The grant never exceeds 100% of the cost before taxes, and the AHRI number of the installed combination decides.
Nine months after installation. The calculator in the LogisVert section gives the exact deadline from your installation date.
Two warranties add up. Hitachi: 10 years on the compressor and on parts when the unit is registered within 60 days (otherwise 7 and 5 years); we do the registration for you. AirGreen: since October 5, 2026, your new heat pump is covered for 6 years, parts, labour and travel included (warranty of good working order under the Consumer Protection Act), with one professional maintenance a year as the condition.
The price depends on the installation: line set length, support, electrical work, access. After a free visit, we give you a clear quotation with the model, the AHRI number and the indicative LogisVert amount.
No question matches. Call us at 514 316-2973.
Your airHome 400, chosen with you, installed and registered by AirGreen.
We come and see the room, confirm the size with you and give you a clear quotation with the AHRI number and the indicative LogisVert amount.
Hydro-Québec never solicits anyone by phone or door to door for LogisVert. If someone calls “on behalf of Hydro-Québec” to sell you a heat pump, hang up.
Monday to Thursday 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. · Friday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Sources checked October 8, 2026
- Hitachi Cooling & Heating Canada, airHome 400, 600, 800 and airCore 700 pages (FR and EN), hitachiaircon.com/ca, checked October 6, 2026.
- Hitachi Cooling & Heating Canada, “Warranties & Training” (mini-split system warranties), checked October 6, 2026.
- AirGreen, AirGreen Warranty of October 5, 2026: 6 years, parts, labour and travel (Consumer Protection Act, CQLR, c. P-40.1, ss. 38.1 to 38.9).
- Hitachi airHome Multi (RAM-G, Nov. 2024) and airHome 600 / 800 (Dec. 2025) submittal sheets.
- ENERGY STAR, Certified Air-Source Heat Pumps (dataset w7cv-9xjt) and NEEP, ashp.neep.org: cold climate, Most Efficient, SEER2, HSPF2 and heat at -8°C and -15°C by AHRI number, checked October 8, 2026.
- Hydro-Québec, residential LogisVert participation guide, version 1.10, September 15, 2026.
- Hydro-Québec, eligible heat pump search tool (by AHRI number), checked October 6, 2026.
- airgreen.ca product pages (metafields: AHRI, models, SEER2, HSPF2, heat at -8°C and -15°C, sound, Wi-Fi, warranty), October 8, 2026.
- AirGreen, “Nos réalisations” blog, Hitachi articles published as of October 8, 2026.
- NEEP, Cold Climate Air Source Heat Pump List (ashp.neep.org): certified maximum and minimum capacities, COP at 8°C, -8°C, -15°C and at the coldest published point, by AHRI number, read October 8, 2026.
- Hitachi airHome 400, 600 and 800 brochures (Canada, Dec. 2024) and airHome Multi brochure (RAM-G-N-HAA, RAK, RAI, RAF, RAD heads): sound levels by fan speed, line lengths, dehumidification, dimensions, FrostWash, filters.
- Hitachi Cooling & Heating Canada, airHome 400, 600, 800 and airCore 700 pages (EN), re-read October 8, 2026.
LogisVert amounts are indicative: Hydro-Québec confirms them when you claim. Price on quotation.
The 6 airHome 400 units in our store, right below.
Filter by capacity, then open the product page: certified figures, AHRI number, LogisVert amount and documentation.










