AirGreen × SAMSUNGHeats down to -30 °C100% down to -20 °C, per SamsungENERGY STAR cold climateLogisVert from $1,272 to $2,640WindFree in summer, built-in Wi-FiUp to 10 years on compressor and parts, registration requiredMontreal · Laval · Longueuil · South Shore · North Shore
01 · Which size?

Four sizes out of five get the cold-climate rate.

Pick a size: model numbers, AHRI number, certified heat at -8 °C and the math at $120 per 1,000 BTU/h. The 9,000 stays under the 12,000 BTU/h minimum.

1What size?
Samsung WindFree Max Heat wall unit

Not sure about the size? We work it out on site: insulation, windows, orientation, ceiling height.

02 · Cold in numbers

At -30 °C, it still has 6,800 to 11,500 BTU/h.

Each bar moves from the heat certified at -8 °C (ENERGY STAR) to the maximum capacity at -30 °C: NEEP values read by AHRI number on Oct. 14, 2026. Tap a button, or let it run.

Heat certified at -8 °C by ENERGY STAR, by AHRI number: this is what sets the LogisVert amount.

Maximum capacity at -30 °C: NEEP values read by AHRI number on Oct. 14, 2026. The outline keeps the -8 °C length.

9,0009,900 BTU/h
12,00010,600 BTU/h
15,00014,000 BTU/h
18,00017,500 BTU/h
24,00022,000 BTU/h

Source: ENERGY STAR, dataset w7cv-9xjt, field “heating_capacity_at_17_f_btu_h”, by AHRI number, read Oct 9, 2026. Values at -30 °C: maximum capacity at NEEP’s coldest certified point, read by AHRI number on Oct. 14, 2026; COP at that point: 1.73 (9,000 and 12,000), 1.29 (15,000), 1.34 (18,000), 1.40 (24,000).

03 · Montreal winters

In January, at least 736 of 744 hours stay within its range.

The National Building Code sets Montreal’s 1% January design temperature at -26 °C: on average, only 8 January hours are colder. Max Heat still heats at -26 °C, and down to -30 °C per Samsung.

Montreal in winter

Real cold, and where the unit stops

+100-10-20-30-40-13.5 °CAverage January low-23 °CDesign temperature (code)-31.8 °CJan 27, 1994-37.8 °CRecord: Jan 15, 1957-20 °C100% (Samsung sheet)-30 °CStill heating
60.4days a year below -10 °C, on average. Samsung claims 100% capacity down to -20 °C (submittal).
12.0days a year below -20 °C. Below that, Samsung says “high capacity” rather than 100%.
0.21day a year below -30 °C, on average. Rare, but it happened: -31.8 °C on January 27, 1994.

Average number of days per month when the low drops below the threshold (1991-2020 normals).

1.5
12.3
20.7
17.7
8
0.22
0
1.3
6.7
3.4
0.67
0
0
0.04
0.13
0.04
0
0
NovDecJanFebMarApr
January has 744 hours. The Code ranks them: 19 are colder than -23 °C, 8 colder than -26 °C, on average. Max Heat still heats at those temperatures, with less output. Below -30 °C, its limit, it is 0.21 day a year on average; the record, -37.8 °C, dates from 1957: keep backup heat for nights like that.

Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada, Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020, Montreal-Trudeau (airport) station, checked Oct 8, 2026. Design temperatures: National Building Code of Canada 2020, Appendix C, Table C-2 (Montreal, City Hall).

04 · Cold climate, certified

Four ENERGY STAR cold-climate tests, five sizes that pass.

This certification is what moves LogisVert from $50 to $120 per 1,000 BTU/h. Pick a size: each needle shows the certified result, the yellow mark shows the bar.

This 70% compares certified heat at -15 °C (5 °F) with rated heat at 8.3 °C (47 °F). It is not the same measure as Samsung’s 100%, whose basis Samsung does not state. The 24,000: COP 2.22 at ENERGY STAR, 2.04 on Samsung’s submittal.

Source: ENERGY STAR, “Heat Pump Equipment Key Product Criteria” and records by AHRI number (dataset w7cv-9xjt), read Oct 9, 2026. Percentages: AirGreen calculation.

05 · Defrost

Why the outdoor unit doesn’t turn into a block of ice.

In cold, damp weather, frost builds on the outdoor coil. The Max Heat melts it with defrost cycles, and its factory base pan heater helps defrost water drain away without freezing, per Samsung.

Outdoor coil (fins)Base pan heater, standardWater drains awayIllustration: how defrost works

Simplified illustration. Base pan heater: Samsung Max Heat submittals (10072024A) and samsunghvac.com (“integral base pan heater to defrost and drain away water to avoid ice buildup”). Samsung also asks for at least 80 mm (3.14 in) between the bottom of the outdoor unit and the ground, and recommends raising it on a bracket fixed to a concrete pad (installation manual).

06 · The outdoor unit

At 15,000 and 18,000, Max Heat uses the next size up outside.

Same compressor type, but outside, the Max Heat 15,000 has the dimensions of the Standard 18,000, and the 18,000 those of the 24,000: more airflow, more refrigerant. At every size it has a factory base pan heater.

Standard31 7/16 inMax Heat39 5/16 in

Drawn to scale from Samsung’s submittals. The fan spins faster when the listed airflow is higher. Yellow strip: base pan heater.

Same size outside (31 1/8 × 21 9/16 × 11 1/4 in). Max Heat weighs 1.8 lb more and has a factory base pan heater.

9,000 BTU/hStandardMax Heat
Height21 9/16 in21 9/16 in
Weight69.2 lb71.0 lb
Fan, max airflow1,589 CFM1,589 CFM
Factory R-32 charge34.0 oz34.0 oz
Max heating current10 A9 A
Max breaker20 A20 A
Published heating range2,200–23,0002,400–23,000
Heating limit-20.6 °C-30 °C
Base pan heaterNot listedFactory

Same size outside (31 1/8 × 21 9/16 × 11 1/4 in). Max Heat weighs 1.8 lb more and has a factory base pan heater.

12,000 BTU/hStandardMax Heat
Height21 9/16 in21 9/16 in
Weight69.2 lb71.0 lb
Fan, max airflow1,589 CFM1,589 CFM
Factory R-32 charge34.0 oz34.0 oz
Max heating current10 A10 A
Max breaker20 A20 A
Published heating range2,200–23,0002,600–24,000
Heating limit-20.6 °C-30 °C
Base pan heaterNot listedFactory

The Standard 18,000’s size: 6 5/16 in taller, 24.7 lb heavier, 247 CFM more, 12.3 oz more R-32.

15,000 BTU/hStandardMax Heat
Height25 1/8 in31 7/16 in
Weight83.3 lb108.0 lb
Fan, max airflow1,766 CFM2,013 CFM
Factory R-32 charge40.6 oz52.9 oz
Max heating current10.1 A15.5 A
Max breaker25 A30 A
Published heating range4,000–26,0004,500–35,000
Heating limit-20.6 °C-30 °C
Base pan heaterNot listedFactory

The Standard 24,000’s size: 7 7/8 in taller, 42.4 lb heavier, 812 CFM more, 17.7 oz more R-32.

18,000 BTU/hStandardMax Heat
Height31 7/16 in39 5/16 in
Weight108.0 lb150.4 lb
Fan, max airflow2,013 CFM2,825 CFM
Factory R-32 charge52.9 oz70.6 oz
Max heating current10.1 A18 A
Max breaker25 A*30 A
Published heating range4,000–27,5007,500–41,000
Heating limit-20.6 °C-30 °C
Base pan heaterNot listedFactory

Same size (37 × 39 5/16 × 13 in). The difference is elsewhere: -30 °C instead of -20.6 °C, and the base pan heater.

24,000 BTU/hStandardMax Heat
Height39 5/16 in39 5/16 in
Weight150.4 lb150.4 lb
Fan, max airflow2,825 CFM2,825 CFM
Factory R-32 charge70.6 oz70.6 oz
Max heating current17.9 A18.5 A
Max breaker30 A30 A
Published heating range6,500–40,0007,500–42,500
Heating limit-20.6 °C-30 °C
Base pan heaterNot listedFactory

Compressor: “Inverter Driven, Twin BLDC Rotary” in both series. Samsung does not publish the outdoor coil size. Heating range: Samsung’s published values, test conditions not stated.

Source: Samsung WindFree Standard and Max Heat submittals (10072024A), specification tables. * Standard 18,000: the Samsung submittal (10072024A) gives MCA 16 A and max breaker 25 A; Samsung’s technical catalog of Sept. 30, 2026 gives 21 A and 30 A. We read the nameplate of the unit delivered before choosing the breaker.

07 · Max Heat or Standard

At 24,000 BTU/h, Max Heat gets $1,620 more than Standard.

Max Heat is cold-climate certified: $120 per 1,000 BTU/h. Standard, ENERGY STAR without the cold-climate tier: $50. And Standard stops at -20.6 °C.

Max HeatStandardGap

9,000Under 12,000 BTU/h
No LogisVert amount in either series
0
12,000$1,272 · $545
+$727
15,000$1,680 · $650
+$1,030
18,000$2,100 · $750
+$1,350
24,000$2,640 · $1,020
+$1,620

At the same size, 2.3 to 2.8 times as much. Amount = ENERGY STAR heat at -8 °C × $120 (cold climate) or $50 per 1,000 BTU/h. AirGreen calculation.

See WindFree Standard
08 · Hydro-Québec LogisVert

From $1,272 to $2,640, by size.

Each amount is worked out from the ENERGY STAR certified heat for the AHRI number on our product pages, at Hydro-Québec’s rate. Pick a size to see the math and your deadline.

ENERGY STAR cold climate: $120 / 1,000 BTU/hNo amount (reason shown)

Source: Hydro-Québec, list of heat pumps eligible for LogisVert, file of Oct. 14, 2026 (owner, existing home), by AHRI number; Participation guide v1.10 (Sept. 15, 2026). Hydro-Québec’s list prevails; the final amount is confirmed when you apply. The program rules are explained once, on the Samsung page.

09 · The spec sheet, made clear

The WindFree Max Heat, size by size.

Size, weight, sound, line limits and cold-weather heat: the numbers from Samsung’s submittals and ENERGY STAR, drawn out. Pick a size.

SAMSUNGWall heat pump · 9,000 BTU/h
IndoorAR09DXDABWKNCV
OutdoorAR09DXDACWKXCV
AHRI215399292
RefrigerantR-32 · 34.0 oz factory charge
Power208-230 V · 60 Hz · max breaker 20 A
SEER2 / HSPF225.0 / 10.5
Samsung submittal 10072024AAIRGREEN SUMMARY

Outdoor unit · 71.0 lb

31 1/8 in21 9/16 in11 1/4 in

Indoor unit · 23.1 lb

35 in11 3/4 in8 7/16 in

Sound in dB(A), with references

Silent 22High 38Outdoor 45 (cooling)20
Rustling leaves
30
Whisper
40
Quiet library
50
Moderate rain
60
Conversation

References in dB: American Academy of Audiology. The unit’s values are those Samsung publishes, in dB(A); the references only give a sense of scale.

23.1 lbindoor unit
24.6 ftof line pre-charged with refrigerant
427 CFMmax airflow, heating
66 ftof line at most, 49 ft vertical
8,500 BTU/hheat at -15 °C (ENERGY STAR)
COP 2.19at -15 °C (5 °F), ENERGY STAR
SAMSUNGWall heat pump · 12,000 BTU/h
IndoorAR12DXDABWKNCV
OutdoorAR12DXDACWKXCV
AHRI215399291
RefrigerantR-32 · 34.0 oz factory charge
Power208-230 V · 60 Hz · max breaker 20 A
SEER2 / HSPF224.0 / 10.5
Samsung submittal 10072024AAIRGREEN SUMMARY

Outdoor unit · 71.0 lb

31 1/8 in21 9/16 in11 1/4 in

Indoor unit · 23.1 lb

35 in11 3/4 in8 7/16 in

Sound in dB(A), with references

Silent 22High 39Outdoor 46 (cooling)20
Rustling leaves
30
Whisper
40
Quiet library
50
Moderate rain
60
Conversation

References in dB: American Academy of Audiology. The unit’s values are those Samsung publishes, in dB(A); the references only give a sense of scale.

23.1 lbindoor unit
24.6 ftof line pre-charged with refrigerant
463 CFMmax airflow, heating
66 ftof line at most, 49 ft vertical
9,000 BTU/hheat at -15 °C (ENERGY STAR)
COP 2.09at -15 °C (5 °F), ENERGY STAR
SAMSUNGWall heat pump · 15,000 BTU/h
IndoorAR15DXDABWKNCV
OutdoorAR15DXDACWKXCV
AHRI215222778
RefrigerantR-32 · 52.9 oz factory charge
Power208-230 V · 60 Hz · max breaker 30 A
SEER2 / HSPF223.0 / 11.0
Samsung submittal 10072024AAIRGREEN SUMMARY

Outdoor unit · 108.0 lb

34 5/8 in31 7/16 in12 3/16 in

Indoor unit · 27.3 lb

41 9/16 in11 3/4 in8 7/16 in

Sound in dB(A), with references

Silent 25High 41Outdoor 48 (cooling)20
Rustling leaves
30
Whisper
40
Quiet library
50
Moderate rain
60
Conversation

References in dB: American Academy of Audiology. The unit’s values are those Samsung publishes, in dB(A); the references only give a sense of scale.

27.3 lbindoor unit
24.6 ftof line pre-charged with refrigerant
600 CFMmax airflow, heating
98 ftof line at most, 66 ft vertical
15,600 BTU/hheat at -15 °C (ENERGY STAR)
COP 2.50at -15 °C (5 °F), ENERGY STAR
SAMSUNGWall heat pump · 18,000 BTU/h
IndoorAR18DXDABWKNCV
OutdoorAR18DXDACWKXCV
AHRI215222786
RefrigerantR-32 · 70.6 oz factory charge
Power208-230 V · 60 Hz · max breaker 30 A
SEER2 / HSPF221.0 / 9.7
Samsung submittal 10072024AAIRGREEN SUMMARY

Outdoor unit · 150.4 lb

37 in39 5/16 in13 in

Indoor unit · 27.3 lb

41 9/16 in11 3/4 in8 7/16 in

Sound in dB(A), with references

Silent 25High 42Outdoor 51 (cooling)20
Rustling leaves
30
Whisper
40
Quiet library
50
Moderate rain
60
Conversation

References in dB: American Academy of Audiology. The unit’s values are those Samsung publishes, in dB(A); the references only give a sense of scale.

27.3 lbindoor unit
24.6 ftof line pre-charged with refrigerant
600 CFMmax airflow, heating
98 ftof line at most, 66 ft vertical
14,300 BTU/hheat at -15 °C (ENERGY STAR)
COP 2.05at -15 °C (5 °F), ENERGY STAR
SAMSUNGWall heat pump · 24,000 BTU/h
IndoorAR24DXDABWKNCV
OutdoorAR24DXDACWKXCV
AHRI215222782
RefrigerantR-32 · 70.6 oz factory charge
Power208-230 V · 60 Hz · max breaker 30 A
SEER2 / HSPF220.0 / 9.5
Samsung submittal 10072024AAIRGREEN SUMMARY

Outdoor unit · 150.4 lb

37 in39 5/16 in13 in

Indoor unit · 27.3 lb

41 9/16 in11 3/4 in8 7/16 in

Sound in dB(A), with references

Silent 28High 47Outdoor 54 (cooling)20
Rustling leaves
30
Whisper
40
Quiet library
50
Moderate rain
60
Conversation

References in dB: American Academy of Audiology. The unit’s values are those Samsung publishes, in dB(A); the references only give a sense of scale.

27.3 lbindoor unit
24.6 ftof line pre-charged with refrigerant
713 CFMmax airflow, heating
98 ftof line at most, 66 ft vertical
18,500 BTU/hheat at -15 °C (ENERGY STAR)
COP 2.22at -15 °C (5 °F), ENERGY STAR; Samsung sheet: 2.04

Sources: Samsung WindFree submittals (version 10072024A); heat and COP at -15 °C: ENERGY STAR, dataset w7cv-9xjt, by AHRI number, Oct 8, 2026. Indoor unit W × H × D. Sound: Samsung publishes Silent mode and high speed.

10 · Samsung plate

The full plate, size by size.

The five WindFree™ Max Heat® sizes side by side, with Samsung’s own terms under each row. Where Samsung publishes nothing, the cell says so.

WindFree™ Max Heat®
Nominal BTU/h9,00012,00015,00018,00024,000
Identification
Indoor unitIndoor unitAR09DXDABWKNCVAR12DXDABWKNCVAR15DXDABWKNCVAR18DXDABWKNCVAR24DXDABWKNCV
Outdoor unitOutdoor unitAR09DXDACWKXCVAR12DXDACWKXCVAR15DXDACWKXCVAR18DXDACWKXCVAR24DXDACWKXCV
AHRI numberAHRI Certified Ref. No.215399292215399291215222778215222786215222782
ENERGY STAR IDENERGY STAR Unique ID36212403621239355449735545053554501
LogisVert, Hydro-Québec listOct. 14, 2026not listed (under 12,000 BTU/h)$1,272$1,680$2,100$2,640
Heating
Rated capacity, cooling / heatingRated capacity (BTU/h)9,000 / 11,00012,000 / 12,00015,000 / 15,00018,500 / 20,00022,000 / 25,000
Heat at 8.3 / -8.3 / -15 °CENERGY STAR, 47 / 17 / 5 °F11,000 / 9,900 / 8,50012,000 / 10,600 / 9,00015,000 / 14,000 / 15,60020,000 / 17,500 / 14,30025,000 / 22,000 / 18,500
COP at 8.3 / -8.3 °CNEEP, 47 / 17 °F4.42 / 2.644.34 / 2.824.63 / 2.933.86 / 2.333.70 / 3.01
COP at -15 °CENERGY STAR, 5 °F2.192.092.502.052.22 (Samsung sheet: 2.04)
Coldest certified point, -30 °C (NEEP)NEEPup to 6,800 BTU/h · COP 1.73up to 6,800 BTU/h · COP 1.73up to 7,500 BTU/h · COP 1.29up to 11,000 BTU/h · COP 1.34up to 11,500 BTU/h · COP 1.40
Efficiency
SEER2 / EER2AHRI 210-240 202325.0 / 16.3524.0 / 14.1023.0 / 14.5521.0 / 13.2020.0 / 12.80
HSPF2, region IV / region VSamsung · NEEP10.5 / 8.510.5 / 8.511.0 / 8.59.7 / 8.59.5 / 8.5
Sound
Indoor, Silent / HighSound pressure, dB(A)22 / 3822 / 3925 / 4125 / 4228 / 47
Outdoor, cooling highSound pressure, dB(A)4546485154
Test conditionsnot publishednot publishednot publishednot publishednot published
Installation
Power · MCA / MOP208-230 V, 1 ph, 60 Hz12 A / 20 A12 A / 20 A16 A / 30 A21 A / 30 A21 A / 30 A
Line setLiquid / gas (in)1/4 + 3/8 in1/4 + 3/8 in1/4 + 1/2 in1/4 + 1/2 in1/4 + 5/8 in
Max length / max riseft66 / 49 ft66 / 49 ft98 / 66 ft98 / 66 ft98 / 66 ft
Factory charge, for 24.6 ftR-32, oz34.0 oz34.0 oz52.9 oz70.6 oz70.6 oz
Outdoor W × H × D · weightin · lb31 1/8 × 21 9/16 × 11 1/4 in · 71.0 lb31 1/8 × 21 9/16 × 11 1/4 in · 71.0 lb34 5/8 × 31 7/16 × 12 3/16 in · 108.0 lb37 × 39 5/16 × 13 in · 150.4 lb37 × 39 5/16 × 13 in · 150.4 lb
Indoor W × H × D · weightin · lb35 × 11 3/4 × 8 7/16 in · 23.1 lb35 × 11 3/4 × 8 7/16 in · 23.1 lb41 9/16 × 11 3/4 × 8 7/16 in · 27.3 lb41 9/16 × 11 3/4 × 8 7/16 in · 27.3 lb41 9/16 × 11 3/4 × 8 7/16 in · 27.3 lb
What Samsung does not publish
  • How to read its model numbers: Samsung writes them with wildcards (AR**DX…) and does not explain each character.
  • The test conditions behind the sound levels, and the sound at the middle fan speeds.
  • The remote control’s model number and the filter-cleaning interval (the owner’s manual is not on a Samsung site).

Sources: Samsung submittals (10072024A); ENERGY STAR (w7cv-9xjt); NEEP, read by AHRI number on Oct. 14, 2026; Hydro-Québec’s LogisVert list of Oct. 14, 2026. HSPF2 region V comes from NEEP: Samsung prints region IV only. The 24,000: COP at -15 °C is 2.22 at ENERGY STAR (certified record), 2.04 on the Samsung sheet.

11 · Cooling in winter

It still cools at -18 °C outside.

A room that overheats in winter, like a storefront or an equipment room, sometimes needs cooling while it’s freezing. Pick a month: we place Montréal’s average low on Max Heat’s range.

-30-20-10010203040Max Heat · heating, -30 to 24 °CMax Heat · cooling, -18 to 46 °CStandard · cooling, from -10 °C

Average lowMonthly mean

-13.5 °Caverage low-9.2 °Cdaily mean
Max Heat · heating possibleMax Heat · cooling possibleStandard · no cooling

At January’s average low (-13.5 °C), Max Heat can cool. Standard, which stops at -10 °C, can’t.

-12.4 °Caverage low-8.0 °Cdaily mean
Max Heat · heating possibleMax Heat · cooling possibleStandard · no cooling

At February’s average low (-12.4 °C), Max Heat can cool. Standard, which stops at -10 °C, can’t.

-6.5 °Caverage low-2.0 °Cdaily mean
Max Heat · heating possibleMax Heat · cooling possibleStandard · cooling possible

At March’s average low (-6.5 °C), both can cool.

1.1 °Caverage low6.2 °Cdaily mean
Max Heat · heating possibleMax Heat · cooling possibleStandard · cooling possible

At April’s average low (1.1 °C), both can cool.

8.3 °Caverage low13.9 °Cdaily mean
Max Heat · heating possibleMax Heat · cooling possibleStandard · cooling possible

At May’s average low (8.3 °C), both can cool.

13.8 °Caverage low19.0 °Cdaily mean
Max Heat · heating possibleMax Heat · cooling possibleStandard · cooling possible

At June’s average low (13.8 °C), both can cool.

16.7 °Caverage low21.7 °Cdaily mean
Max Heat · heating possibleMax Heat · cooling possibleStandard · cooling possible

At July’s average low (16.7 °C), both can cool.

15.6 °Caverage low20.6 °Cdaily mean
Max Heat · heating possibleMax Heat · cooling possibleStandard · cooling possible

At August’s average low (15.6 °C), both can cool.

10.9 °Caverage low16.0 °Cdaily mean
Max Heat · heating possibleMax Heat · cooling possibleStandard · cooling possible

At September’s average low (10.9 °C), both can cool.

4.5 °Caverage low8.9 °Cdaily mean
Max Heat · heating possibleMax Heat · cooling possibleStandard · cooling possible

At October’s average low (4.5 °C), both can cool.

-1.7 °Caverage low2.3 °Cdaily mean
Max Heat · heating possibleMax Heat · cooling possibleStandard · cooling possible

At November’s average low (-1.7 °C), both can cool.

-8.7 °Caverage low-5.0 °Cdaily mean
Max Heat · heating possibleMax Heat · cooling possibleStandard · cooling possible

At December’s average low (-8.7 °C), both can cool.

The room must be between 16 and 32 °C to cool, per Samsung’s submittal. An average low is not the month’s coldest night.

Source: Samsung WindFree Max Heat and Standard submittals (10072024A), operating ranges; Environment and Climate Change Canada, 1991-2020 normals, Montreal-Trudeau (daily minimum and mean).

12 · Our Max Heat installs

Balcony, flat roof, under the stairs: 30 installs published.

Each post shows a real install, with the bracket, the refrigerant line route and the start-up.

All our installs
13 · True or false

The Max Heat, in six claims.

True or false? Flip the cards: every answer has its source.

0/ 6

Pick True or False: the card flips to show the answer and its source.

01

All five Max Heat units were ENERGY STAR certified on the same day.

02

The Max Heat 9,000 indoor unit is as wide as the Standard 9,000.

03

The Max Heat 24,000 has the same COP at -15 °C in Samsung’s sheet and at ENERGY STAR.

04

The Max Heat 9,000 qualifies for a LogisVert amount.

05

Samsung claims 100% capacity at -30 °C.

06

Among our ten Samsung wall units, the best COP at -15 °C belongs to the Max Heat 15,000.

14 · Frequently asked questions

What people ask about the Max Heat.

Down to -30 °C (-22 °F) outside, per the Samsung submittal. Per the same submittal, it keeps 100% of its heating capacity down to -20 °C (-4 °F).

Per NEEP, read by AHRI number on Oct. 14, 2026, its maximum capacity at -30 °C ranges from 6,800 BTU/h (9,000 and 12,000) to 11,500 BTU/h (24,000).

Max Heat is ENERGY STAR cold-climate certified: Hydro-Québec gives $120 per 1,000 BTU/h of heat at -8 °C. Standard gets $50.

Yes. Our published installs show it on balconies, flat roofs and under stairs. Samsung asks for at least 700 mm (27.5 in) clear in front of the air outlet. As for weight, the outdoor unit runs from 71 lb (9,000 and 12,000) to 150.4 lb (18,000 and 24,000).

Both come from Samsung. The Max Heat submittals say 100% heating capacity at -20 °C (-4 °F); Samsung’s web page says 100% at -15 °C (5 °F). Both agree on heating down to -30 °C, with “high capacity”. Samsung does not say what this 100% is measured against. ENERGY STAR measures something else: certified heat at -15 °C compared with rated heat at 8.3 °C. For the 9,000, that is 8,500 of 11,000 BTU/h, or 77%.

Four bars: at least 70% of rated heat still there at -15 °C, a COP of at least 1.75 at -15 °C, an HSPF2 of at least 8.5 and a SEER2 of at least 15.2 for a ductless heat pump. All five Max Heat units pass, per their ENERGY STAR records.

Samsung puts the Max Heat 15,000 in an outdoor unit the size of the Standard 18,000, with more airflow and more refrigerant. Samsung gives no other explanation, nor the coil size.

Yes, in some cases. Since June 15, 2026, Hydro-Québec adds $100 per 1,000 BTU/h at -8 °C, for $220 in total, for an ENERGY STAR cold-climate wall unit installed in a multi-unit building located in an energy-poverty zone. This bonus cannot be combined with any other offer. Max Heat is a cold-climate wall unit; Standard is not.

Yes, down to -18 °C outside per Samsung’s submittal, if the room is between 16 and 32 °C. The Standard stops cooling below -10 °C.

No question matches. Call us: 514 316-2973.

15 · The Samsung range

Several rooms? The FJM multi-zone goes down to -25 °C.

Max Heat heats one room. For two to four rooms on one outdoor unit, which heats down to -25 °C per Samsung, or a house with ducts, here’s the rest of the range.

The full SAMSUNG page
AirGreen × SAMSUNGSold and installed by AirGreenMax Heat: down to -30 °CLogisVert checked by AHRI numberFree home estimate

Sources checked on October 14, 2026

  1. Samsung HVAC, “Residential & Light Commercial Tech Catalog” (Sept. 30, 2026), samsunghvac.com, read Oct. 14, 2026.
  2. NEEP, Cold Climate Air Source Heat Pump List, records read by AHRI number on Oct. 14, 2026 (test points, COP, coldest certified point).
  3. Hydro-Québec, list of heat pumps eligible for LogisVert (owner, existing home), file of Oct. 14, 2026: amounts and “capacity at -8 °C”.
  4. Samsung WindFree Standard and WindFree Max Heat submittals, 9,000 to 24,000 BTU/h (version 10072024).
  5. ENERGY STAR, Certified Air-Source Heat Pumps (dataset w7cv-9xjt), queried by AHRI number on Oct. 8, 2026.
  6. Hydro-Québec, residential LogisVert page and LogisVert Participation Guide v1.10 (Sept. 15, 2026), checked Oct. 8, 2026.
  7. Samsung HVAC 2026 spec sheets and warranty registration page (samsunghvac.com), checked Oct. 8, 2026.
  8. AirGreen, “Our installs” and “Service calls” blogs, articles published by Oct. 8, 2026.
  9. airgreen.ca product pages, Oct. 8, 2026.
  10. Environment and Climate Change Canada, Canadian Climate Normals 1991-2020, Montreal-Trudeau; National Building Code of Canada 2020, Appendix C.
  11. Hydro-Québec, Bonification Multilogements page (LogisVert), checked Oct 8, 2026.
  12. American Academy of Audiology, “Levels of Noise in Decibels”, 2023 (sound references).
  13. ENERGY STAR, “Heat Pump Equipment Key Product Criteria” and records by AHRI number (dataset w7cv-9xjt), read Oct 9, 2026.
  14. National Building Code of Canada 2020, Appendix C, definition of January design temperatures (CBHCC public review copy).

LogisVert amounts are indicative: Hydro-Québec confirms them when you apply. Prices on quote.

The SAMSUNG shop

All five WindFree Max Heat units, right below.

From 9,000 to 24,000 BTU/h: open the product page for dimensions, sound level and full performance data.

AirGreenSAMSUNG
Prices on quote. Free home estimate.